I need a happy poem!

An ASCII smiley (image from Squidoo.com)
An ASCII smiley (image from Squidoo.com)

One of the things that my husband and I do best, if I may say so myself, is to have good fun onstage while performing our poetry + percussion pieces. I wouldn’t exactly call myself a poet, but I try to string words and meaning together, and when I’m up there on a stage with my husband, it’s yet another affirmation of why I love this man and why I chose this path.

But I digress.

Tonight, we’ll be performing at an open mic session for the Romancing Venus City Bar Tour at Quantum Cafe, Bagtikan Street, Makati, 9PM onwards. While discussing our potential pieces last night, I realized that I do not have any happy poetry! Most of them are melancholy, morose, or mushy–which  now makes me realize that I use poetry as an outlet for my wounds. But since tonight’s open mic also includes comedy and other fun stuff, I would love to write a happy poem and have it accompanied by my husband’s lively beats.

So here’s what I need from you: Please suggest words, phrases, ideas, or whatever else that I can string together into a performance piece. I’ll do my best to make it work, and hopefully the audience will enjoy it too!

And if you want to catch the show tonight, here are the full details:

Romancing Venus City Bar Tour
Quantum Cafe, Bagtikan Street, Makati
TONIGHT, April 19, 9PM onwards
Featuring music + poetry + comedy + open mic
With performers: Maegan Aguilar, Kooky Tuason, Chedi Vergara, Charms of Matilda, Marty Tengco, Mike Unson, and many others
P150 entrance fee comes with a free drink

So what say you? Game, game? 🙂

Leave a Reply

