I’m going pesco-vegetarian on weekdays!

After much thought, soul-searching, and reality check-ing, I’ve decided to go pesco-vegetarian on weekdays.

To those who’ve seen me yoyo from pesco-veg for two and a half years, South Beach (and some extreme dieting) for four years, to absolutely no care in the world (and therefore all of this weight gain) in the past three years, you’ll be happy to know that I’m doing this not as another crash diet, but as a lifestyle change that I hope to sustain as the years go by.

I’ve realized that, given my age and career trajectory, there are certain things I’ll need to live with:

  • Age (I’m turning 32 in January!)
  • Frequent travels and all-access pass to cocktails and buffet tables
  • Very little time to maintain a regular workout
  • A body that responds quickly to unhealthy carbs and also responds quite quickly to any dietary changes
  • The need to be light(er) on my feet and ready for any sort of physical activity that my work requires
  • The desire to be healthy when I start having children (and since I am turning 32 in January, I can’t wait too long, can I?)
  • The desire to go back to a “yoga lifestyle” and to, hopefully, make my way to living and teaching yoga as a retirement plan
I also want to go back from THIS:
Look at the arms!
Look at the arms!
Marshmallow face! (This was taken in December, so imagine all those Christmas carbs!)
Marshmallow face! (This was taken in December, so imagine all those Christmas carbs!)
To THIS:
At the Close-up Lovapalooza, 2007
At the Close-up Lovapalooza, 2007
And this:
One of my favorite photos with the hubby, ca. 2004
One of my favorite photos with the hubby, ca. 2004
Without looking emaciated like THIS (this was waaaay too much)!
My contributing writer photo for MEGA, ca. 2007
My contributing writer photo for MEGA, ca. 2007
I’m putting these photos up here as a reminder of my goals, and I’m also taking to heart a conversation I had with Chef Daniel Green (the “model chef”), who lost over 50 kilos just by eating well and not having to punish himself with intense workouts, who said that a healthy lifestyle should be disciplined on Mondays to Fridays, and allow oneself to indulge a bit on weekends. So that’s what I’ll do: knowing myself, my body, my schedule, and my interests, I know that I can safely be pesco-veg (and still get to enjoy the buffet table) on weekdays without punishing myself, and then I can let my hair down and bit and enjoy chicken and some other goodies on weekends.
It’s obviously going to entail a bit of a sacrifice, but after having been injured on one trip and sick on another, I can’t bear to be sickly anymore while going on these awesome destinations. I’m also looking forward to being healthy enough to have children and enjoy them, so I know that I’ll be doing this not just for myself, but also for the people who matter to me.
Wish me luck! And to my meeting and dining buddies: let’s look for restos that serve great veggie food! I’ll love you more for it. 🙂
*Crossing fingers!*
Nina scribble
One Comment Add yours

  1. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

