My version of unplugging

Yesterday, one of my favorite blogs, Brains on Fire, had a post about being “unplugged.”  It was written by Hugh Weber, a guy who describes himself as such:

“I don’t remember the last time I didn’t text or tweet or habitually check for emails on a Blackberry or iPhone or ancient Motorola. I simply can’t remember a time before I was accessible 24 hours a day.”

Now, Hugh and I are probably long-lost relatives in a virtual family of workaholics and social media addicts, so I very much related to what he had written.

So when, for my “soul couching” exercise, coach Loes van Mierlo of Sacred Discovery posed THIS challenge…

“Step out of your comfort zone, do something that you normally don’t do and that makes you a little bit nervous. It can be something small, but it’s important that it’s something that is a bit of a challenge for you.”

I knew EXACTLY what to do.

Well before midnight last night–around 10:30-ish, which, in my book, is early–I switched off my laptop and my Blackberry (yes, OFF, not on silent mode), and sunk my teeth into this:

TIME Magazine - Summer Journey Issue 2011 - Travels Through Islam
TIME Magazine (Summer Journey Issue 2011): Travels Through Islam

I let my mind wander through the dusty streets and deserts of Morocco, Mecca, and the rest of Dar-al-Islam; I met the 14th-century legal scholar and wanderer, Ibn Battuta, whom the legendary travel writer Pico Iyer describes as “The Father of Travel Writing”; I traveled to places I have only dreamed of visiting; and, for that particular sliver of time, I was fully present, fully in the moment–not enslaved by the insistent flickering of my Blackberry’s red light.

And I was happy. 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Loes says:

    Love it, Nina! 😀

Leave a Reply

