Discovery Monday #1: What’s in a name?

Since it’s a new year, let’s make a new “tradition” for this blog, shall we?

Instead of commemorating “Manic Mondays”, let’s make Mondays days for discoveries of all kinds. I’ll post simple prompts, quotes, or insights, then you can either reflect on them in private, share your thoughts on the comments section of this blog, or write your own blog post about this and share the link here. And let’s try to infect other people, too! The more we adopt an attitude of discovery, the more we’ll be able to welcome serendipity working in our lives.

Are you ready? Here goes:

How was your name chosen for you?
What are the origins of your name? Why did your parents choose that for you? And how did your nickname evolve?

Names are powerful ideas in themselves, and by paying more attention to our names and what they mean, we could gain deeper insight about something that we’re meant to do or be.

The name for this blog, for instance, was derived from my full name, Nina Rica Marie. Ever since I gained a deeper appreciation of what my name really meant and why it was chosen for me, I’ve committed to living a richer, fuller, more abundant life.

So, what does YOUR name say about you? πŸ™‚

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. kriztalladen says:

    Wow! We’re the same, Miss Nina. I named my blog Turtle Keziah because, first and foremost, I love turtles and, second, because I love my name which is Krizelle. According to my mother, she derived my name from Keziah, a Hebrew name which means bottle of precious perfume. Keziah is the second daughter of Job, a Biblical character. I am the second of three daughters. My elder sister and younger sister were named after the exact names of the first and third daughters of Job while my name was just a derivation. I find that unfair. Haha! But then, explaining further, mother told me that Krizelle is also inspired Christmas and by Christ because I was born on the first day of simbang gabi.

    And, indeed, holding to what my name entails, I feel that every time I reach out to people, I am spreading a unique fragrance–that uniqueness like how Christ rose from the convention for the salvation of all. πŸ™‚

    1. ninaterol says:

      WOW!! Your name has such a rich and beautiful history, Kris! Never lose sight of it because that’s what makes you special πŸ™‚ And belated happy birthday! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

