It’s time to find a new dream

Happy New Year! Happy 2012!

It’s funny how messages can come to us–often in the most unexpected of ways and times. The New Year, with all its overflowing energy and positivity and hope, is always a good time to receive messages. And because I’ve specifically asked for them, I’m keeping myself open to new input from the Universe.

This time, it spoke to me through an animated movie called Tangled.

So there I was, waiting for the clock to strike Twelve, while watching whatever was on at Star Movies. Tangled, as I discovered, is a different take on the story of Rapunzel, the princess who has been kept in a tower for 18 years and whose (extremely) long hair possessed magical powers.

In the story woven by the creators of Tangled, Rapunzel for 18 years has been watching from her window an annual light show caused by the sending out of thousands of lanterns onto the nighttime sky. It has been a long-held dream of hers to see the lights from outside her tower. Thanks to a runaway thief–not a prince–named “Flynn Rider” (“Eugene” in his non-thieving life), Rapunzel manages to escape and prime herself for the show of her life.

Shortly before the light show, while on a boat by the river (which Eugene had said would give Rapunzel “the best seats in the house”), Rapunzel turns anxious and asks Eugene (and I loosely paraphrase based on what I remember from the dialogue):

“I’ve dreamed about this my whole life. What if it’s not like what I expected it to be?”

“It will be,” Eugene reassures her.

“What if it is? What next?”

“You go find yourself a new dream.”

At that moment, it hit me. What if this dream phase is over for me and it’s time to move to a new one? What if I’ve gone as far as I could for this particular dream but now have to leave it in order to pursue other dreams? People grow up, change, evolve–why can’t dreams?

A large part of me hurt to realize this because I know that letting go of this dream will mean letting a big part of myself die, possibly hurting a lot of people in the process. But I also can no longer pretend that what I used to want a few years ago still holds true now. Maybe there are still parts that I want, but maybe there are also parts that need to change.

All growing up involves some pain, right? But won’t it be more painful to hold ourselves back and just let ourselves wither away?

Then, as with many animated movies, the theme song came on and I just had to jot down the chorus:

And at last I see the light
And it’s like the fog has lifted
And at last I see the light
And it’s like the sky is new
And it’s warm and real and bright
And the world has somehow shifted

All I want
Everything is different
Now that I see you

A new year has arrived; new energies are upon us. And maybe, just maybe, the time is ripe to find a new dream.

Posted via WordPress for Blackberry

Leave a Reply

