Travel planning for 2012’s long holidays

I never used to plan my travels–either because they had already been planned by my mom or because they were travels that I had to do on assignment. In case of the latter, the trip would come in a sweet little package: free, pre-booked tickets; free, pre-arranged accommodations, hotel transfers, tour guides, free meals, so on and so forth.

Exhibit A: Media fam trip to Bohol organized by Philippine Airlines - Mabuhay Miles, Allied Bank, and Bluewater Panglao
Exhibit A: Media fam trip to Bohol organized by Philippine Airlines - Mabuhay Miles, Allied Bank, and Bluewater Panglao

I didn’t have to spend to get to places, but I couldn’t just sit on my hiney either. I had to take notes, take photos, do interviews, chase after stories, then, post-trip, would have to transcribe interviews, write stories, and all the jazz that comes with media trips. It’s been fun–and I’d been spoiled rotten by the travel writer lifestyle, I know–but I’m now longing for real vacations. The kind that would allow me to share a room with my husband instead of with a photographer or a media roommate.

Exhibit B: Kissing my roommate outside the Duomo in Milan
Exhibit B: Kissing my roommate outside the Duomo in Milan, a few days after getting married at the 2009 Milan Homeless World Cup

So, for 2012, as part of the major change that will need to take place in my life, I plan to take more trips for leisure than for work. I intend to make the most of the long holidays and head to destinations that my husband and I would really, really like to enjoy. I’ve already got some ideas for these dates, but if you have any recommendations for both local and foreign destinations, let’s see ’em here and see if we’ve got a match. πŸ™‚

2012 Long Holidays in the Philippines

January 21 to 23 (Saturday to Monday) – January 23 is Chinese New Year AND both hubby’s and my birthday! πŸ™‚ (Two Water Bearers turning a year older in the Year of the Water Dragon!)

Travel idea: A birthday “staycation” within the metro

April 5 to 9 (Thursday to Monday) – April 5 and 6 are Holy Thursday and Good Friday, while April 9 is Araw ng Kagitingan

Travel wish: A trip to Guangzhou to see the Guangzhou Opera House, one of the latest architectural masterpieces by my favorite architect in the world, Zaha Hadid.

The Guangzhou Opera House | Photo by Iwan Baan in Zaha-Hadid.com
The Guangzhou Opera House | Photo by Iwan Baan in Zaha-Hadid.com

August 25 to 27 (Saturday to Monday)Β – August 27 is National Heroes Day

Travel wish: A storm-free location in the Philippines, please?

November 1 to 4 (Thursday to Saturday) – November 1 and 2, All Saints’ Day and All Souls’ Day, respectively, fall on Thursday and Friday

Travel wish: Would this be a good time to head to Vietnam? πŸ™‚

November 3o to December 2 (Friday to Sunday) – November 30 is Bonifacio Day

Travel wish: Palawan… yes? πŸ™‚ Or is three days too short?

*Then the Christmas and New Year holidays, of course, will be spent with our families.

Any thoughts on where YOU’d like to be in 2012? Let’s trade ideas here. πŸ™‚

For more information on the regular holidays, special (non-working) days, and special holidays for the Philippines in 2012, please see Proclamation No. 295 HERE.

Leave a Reply

