Two powerful messages from two powerful messengers

Today I received these two messages from two individuals I truly, truly admire. One is a broadcast journalist, known for her incisive interviewing style; her no-nonsense, no-holds-barred onscreen persona; and her courageous take on Philippine politics. One is an OPM (Original Pilipino Music) pioneer and legend, a creative “guru”, and a true Renaissance Man. Combine them and you’ll get an idea of the kind of person, voice, and citizen I’d someday like to become.

After I retweeted this from @FamousWomen, “You must do the thing which you think you cannot do. -Eleanor Roosevelt”, the first message-bearer tweeted this back:

A tweet from one of my favorite broadcast journalists and talk show hosts, Pia Hontiveros-Pagkalinawan
A tweet from one of my favorite broadcast journalists and talk show hosts, Pia Hontiveros-Pagkalinawan

“Beyond your comfort zone lies your courage zone.” What a beautiful thought. Now it makes me want to stay even more in the “courage zone” so that I can push my boundaries and limits, and discover even more things about myself and the world.

(A disclaimer: Pia says that she read this somewhere so we cannot attribute the quote to her. We’re still trying to look for the source of the actual quote.)

Then, a couple of hours later, after I sent out the invite to Even More Cold Doodles to some friends, I received this message from one of my personal heroes:

“Go go Nines. This is the year we surprise and outdo ourselves. – Jim

“Beyond your comfort zone lies your courage zone.” “This is the year we surprise and outdo ourselves.” Two lines spoken (tweeted, emailed) by two individuals who embody the very qualities that I would like to emulate and demonstrate. Two very powerful messages by two very powerful messengers.

This must be the Universe talking. And I’m listening and ready! 🙂

P.S. YOU might also be receiving messages today from your personal heroes, or through things and events that mean something to you. Pay attention! Who knows what the Universe has got to say to you?

Leave a Reply

