Discovery Monday #3: When was the last time you pushed your boundaries? What did you discover?

January has been full of surprises, witnessing things that I didn’t realize I’d be doing simply because someone saw something in me and compelled me to push my boundaries a little bit further each time.

On January 10, I led a Dreamboarding workshop for Writer’s Block Philippines, which was my first-ever time to lead a group through a simple meditation/visualization session before we went off to dreamboarding. I was nervous leading a group of virtual strangers through a meditation session, but we received good feedback about it, and I know it’s something I want to keep on doing.

Dreamboarding with Writer's Block Philippines
Dreamboarding with Writer's Block Philippines

On January 14, I participated in my first-ever art exhibit, thanks to my husband who volunteered my doodles to the show’s organizers after they had invited him to perform for the opening. I was obviously not as technically proficient as some of the other artists in the room, but my art looked good on the walls, they meant something to me, and I received positive feedback about them! 🙂

Exhibiting works at "Even More Cold Doodles", My Little Art Place, 222 Wilson Street, San Juan, Greenhills, San Juan, Metro Manila, Philippines
Exhibiting works at "Even More Cold Doodles", My Little Art Place, 222 Wilson Street, San Juan, Greenhills, San Juan, Metro Manila, Philippines
"Self-portrait #1" (Correction fluid on illustration board, 2012) by NTZ
"Self-portrait #1" (Correction fluid on illustration board, 2012) by NTZ
"Self-portrait #2" (Correction fluid on illustration board, 2012) by NTZ
"Self-portrait #2" (Correction fluid on illustration board, 2012) by NTZ
"Nagkakaintindihan ba tayo? (Do we understand each other?)" (Mixed media, 2012) by NTZ
"Nagkakaintindihan ba tayo? (Do we understand each other?)" (Mixed media, 2012) by NTZ
"Water Bearer", a work-in-progress dedicated to my husband Paul (Correction fluid on illustration board, 2012) by NTZ
"Water Bearer", a work-in-progress dedicated to my husband Paul (Correction fluid on illustration board, 2012) by NTZ

Just a few days later, on January 19, my husband and I broke boundaries and pushed the envelope yet again with a precise, heavily-rehearsed performance poetry piece for the launching of Globe Tattoo’s “Resistance” campaign. (Will post the video soon!) We were thrilled and honored to have been chosen to represent”resistance against mediocrity”, joining fellow creatives who represented the campaign’s other elements: first-rate design team Team Manila also for “resistance against mediocrity “, international hat designer Mich Dulce for “resistance against uniformity”, and awe-inspiring sculptor and visual artist Leeroy New for “resistance against limitations.”

Joining the Globe Resistance (January 19, 2012, Ayala Museum)
Joining the Globe Resistance (January 19, 2012, Ayala Museum)
Paul Zialcita & Nina Terol-Zialcita joining the "Resistance"
Paul Zialcita & Nina Terol-Zialcita joining the "Resistance"

It doesn’t end there! Just last night, January 22, on the eve of our birthday, Paul and I were once again invited to perform poetry and percussion–this time for the premiere of an independent film called Suntok sa Buwan. Since it was a boxing-inspired movie, I took the opportunity to once again don my boxing robe, do a mash-up of my “Resistance” piece with some boxing elements… and rap. In Filipino.

The video isn’t up yet on YouTube, but you can find it here on Facebook.

"Boxing" spoken word + percussion at "Suntok sa Buwan" premiere, January 22, SM Megamall Cinema 1
"Boxing" spoken word + percussion at "Suntok sa Buwan" premiere, January 22, SM Megamall Cinema 1

Leading a meditation session, joining an art exhibit, being chosen to perform spoken word for a high-profile brand campaign, rapping in Filipino… Who would have thought that I’d be able to do it all–and all in the space of two weeks? This month has taught me all about pushing boundaries, testing my limits, and, more importantly, believing in myself.

So for today’s Discovery Monday, I ask YOU: When was the last time YOU pushed your own boundaries? What happened and what did you learn from the experience?

Leave a Reply

