Happy Hearts Day! What is YOUR heart telling you? :)

Not everyone in the world is a romantic, and not everyone in the world subscribes to the belief that February 14 should be spent on wine and roses. (My husband and I, however, are suckers for romance. Happy me!) Seriously though, everyone here does have a heart, so I wonder why some of us go through our whole lives not knowing what it says and then wonder why we are left with large, gaping holes that cannot be filled by success, money, or fame.

Many, many moons ago Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist reminded me that “to fulfill one’s destiny is a person’s only obligation.” (I’m quoting/paraphrasing from memory, so please pardon any inaccuracies.) That led me, at 21, on a hunt for destiny’s gift, guided by the sound of my inner voice and the courage to follow intuition. It was by no means easy–there were many instances of conflict, tumult, and a case of me rebelling against myself (or me rebelling against others)–but today, at 32, I will maintain and declare that it was one of the best things I’ve ever done. Sure, there were many times when it hurt (myself and others); there were many times when I questioned myself and my sanity. But through it all what I tried to keep was my sense of me-being-myself, and I think that that is one of the best gifts I’ve ever given myself.

Be the best version of yourself that you can be, a saying goes. There is only one of you so why live your life trying to be a copy of somebody else?

This is easier said that done, of course. We will always bear the weight of expectation–someone else’s or our own–and we will never be able to separate ourselves from societies and communities with their own cultural and moral norms. But I also dare think and say that if we really listen to and follow our hearts–if we dare tread the path that is truly ours–then we will be led to a place where everything is in sync, everything is in its place, everything happens and flows the way it should.

As I had just told a friend over Twitter: Your heart will never lead you astray.

(Your mind, sometimes, especially when it’s muddled. Your ego, almost always. Your hormones, even more so. But your heart, never. It will find a way to alert you, whisper to you, poke you, and even yell at you–if need be–when you’re going the wrong way. It’s just up to you to know your heart well enough to hear its unique voice, and then follow what it says.)

Your heart will never lead you astray.

It’s a bold claim to make, I’m aware of that, but I also believe that because we’ve got just one life to live, what other choice do we have but to be bold? Be timid in living out our own lives?? No way!! “Carpe diem!”, says Robin Williams as John Keating in the movie Dead Poets Society. One day we will be “fertilizing daffodils”, he says, so when else are we supposed to fulfill this life’s purpose?

So think about it–no, scratch that. Don’t think; silence your mind and feel and know what your heart says. What is it telling you? Trust that it will lead you only to a good place, and work up the courage to finally get yourself there. You owe it to yourself.

🙂

Happy Hearts Day, and have a great journey ahead!

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Harveen says:

    Today I knew there was gonna be a great post from you! It felt you gave voice n clarity to readers own hearts.

Leave a Reply

