“Follow your procrastination”

Brains on Fire is one of my favorite blogs (actually, one of my favorite companies with a blog), and if you take time to check it out you’ll see why it’s been a source of inspiration for someone like me. I get not only business “advice” and tips, I also get insights from their bloggers’ personal reflections.

Since it’s the weekend (and since I’m still composing a “full feature” for you guys), I’d like to leave you with a few excerpts from Eric Dodds’ post on procrastination.

Follow Your Procrastination: A Bittersweet Farewell from Eric Dodds

…The story starts a handful of years ago with a quote one of my friends posted on their blog:

The work you do while you procrastinate is probably the work you should be doing for the rest of your life.

– Jessica Hische

I had just started at Brains on Fire when I first read that. The concept was interesting, but it’s full weight didn’t hit me until much later. I was earning spurs on my first national brand, and Brains on Fire is the type of place that gives a truckload of opportunity to the hard working and hungry. Looking back, I think I might have asked for two truckloads…

… I began channeling my off-hours energy into starting a few companies for fun. I scanned my day-to-day experiences for annoyances or problems I thought technology could iron out. At the time, I also happened to live with one of the most talented developers I’ve ever met, and he was happy to have new challenges to tackle. We would stay up late talking through ideas, and in about a years’ time, we started and killed a rental payment web app and a wedding website service. We weren’t anywhere close to having a real product – we both had full time day jobs – but the act of talking and planning was exhilarating.

So, when the founders of a technology-based startup accelerator (The Iron Yard) approached me about coming on as their program manager and marketing guy, I was faced with a dilemma: leave a group of some of the most talented people I’ve ever met (and a place I loved coming to work to everyday), or take a chance on making my off-hours passion a full time job?

This is an excerpt only. Read the full post in Brains on Fire, HERE.

Hmmmm. “The work you do while you procrastinate is probably the work you should be doing for the rest of your life.” That makes total sense to me–except that I just write some more, doodle, and daydream–and tweet–when I procrastinate. Actually, when I procrastinate, I BLOG. I blog HERE.

Hmmmm, that’s a thought.

Let’s see where that idea takes us. 🙂

In the meantime, have a great weekend, everyone! Here are a couple more “weekendy” photos for you. 🙂

Find your space | Text and photo by Niña Terol-Zialcita

Give yourself room to bloom | Text and photo by Niña Terol-Zialcita

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I shall write down that quote and plaster it on my wall! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing Nina. Glad to read from you again!

    Nikka

    1. ninaterol says:

      Thanks so much, Nikka! 😀 Happy procrastinating this weekend!

  2. chel says:

    My first time to visit your blogsite and read your blog. It moved me. 🙂

    1. ninaterol says:

      Thank you so very much, Ma’am Chel! (I’m assuming you’re who I think you are :D) I realized that it’s writing here that has kept me sane and grounded all these years 😀

Leave a Reply

